Leave a comment

Meet the member – Royston Crandley celebrates 100th Parkrun

Last weekend Sandhurst Jogger Royston Crandley celebrated completing his 100th Parkrun so we took the opportunity to find out more about him and his running….

Q) For members who don’t know you, tell us a bit about yourself?

A) I have been a member of sandhurst joggers for around 10 years.  Going from a sixteen stone heffer to now.   My first ever club run was on a Tuesday winters night at Morgan rec.  And I’m still here.

Q) How and when did you get into running?

A) I’ve always been into running but like many I had large gaps of travelling and eating so the fitness went out the window.  My big inspiration was seeing Paula Radcliffe run in 2005,  I then went out on my first run (400m… cough… splutter )  but I persevered and continued the journey. A combination of diet and running saw me complete my first marathon around 2008. A painful 5:30hrs. 

Q) What do you enjoy most about being a member of Sandhurst Joggers?

A) After trying out another local running club, not so far away,  I discovered SJ, who turned out to be friendly bunch who’s encouragement and advice saw my running increase and my weight drop. It’s a great club to run with, who always have open arms for new comers to our great sport.

Q) On which of the weekly runs are we most likely to bump into you?

A) You’ll see me running normally on a Tuesday and Friday evening. Then Saturday morning when work allows, I will be racking up the Parkruns, normally at Frimley Lodge Park.

roystons-100th-parkrun

Q) We see many Parkrun tourism photos from different Parkruns around the country, of the 10 events you’ve ran, which was your favourite and why?

A) I do enjoy a bit of Parkrun tourism, and after Frimley my next favourite is Yeovil, situated at Montecute House on National Trust land – a challenging run which is more like a cross country run, great café and cake after.

Q) What other events are on your race programme for 2017?

A) This year will see me running the best half marathon, which is Reading, then London to follow, this will be number 9 and my 6th London, never again I said, but I say that every time, ask my mum. See you on a run at some point. 

Many thanks to Royston, congratulations on a great achievement and happy running in 2017!

Leave a Reply

