Leave a comment

Meet the member – John King

In all the Christmas excitement we missed another Sandhurst Jogger completing his 100th Parkrun. John King wrapped up his century at Rushmoor on New Years Day (he also went to do the double and run 3 seconds faster at Frimley Lodge later the same morning). Let’s find out more about him…

Q) For members who don’t know you, tell us a bit about yourself?

A) I’m 51 years old and have been running most of my life. Sprints at school, long jump etc as I am quite tall. Had a break and came back into it again in my early twenties when my old school was advertising a 10K race. I started running around the block with an old mate to get fit, entered the race and I was hooked again from there.

Q) How and when did you get into running?

A) I properly got into running when the Yateley 10Ks started up and met a neighbour there, who introduced me to his running club. Sadly not Sandhurst Joggers! 😱 Once we moved house I thought it was time to join SJ.

Q) What do you enjoy most about being a member of Sandhurst Joggers?

A) I love being a member now, as everybody is so friendly and there is always something going on, an event being discussed on Facebook and runners meeting up, but the best thing I found out last year was the funnily dubbed the ‘Not the weekend away weekend’. It was full of activities and the catering was excellent! Highly recommended.

Q) On which of the weekly runs are we most likely to bump into you?

A) Sadly, not a regular runner with the club, although the sharp-eyed among you might see me running around the streets of Sandhurst and Crowthorn, up and down those pesky hills!.. Ooh, also sometimes at Bracknell Track on a Friday…

Q) I see you’ve ran at many Parkruns around the country including the infamous Bushy Park, of the 8 events you’ve ran, which was your favourite and why?

A) Hard to choose a favourite parkrun, as they are all very different and I always say to people that I love Bushy Park, but I do like Telford parkrun, because it means that we are staying over at our very good friends house and the start is a nice, easy jog away from their house to Alice in Wonderland. Look it up sometime!

Q) What other events are on your programme for 2017?

A) Still hoping to get into London through the Marshalls ballot and just signed up for the Farnham Pilgrims marathon, so looks like a high mileage year for me then!

Well done John, thanks for sharing and good luck with the London ballot and all your other adventures.

Leave a Reply

