Leave a comment

Meet the member – Alurie Dutton celebrates 150th Parkrun

In all the excitement last weekend a Parkrun achievement nearly slipped through my results net but luckily the omission was spotted and we caught up Alurie Dutton to hear about her 150th Parkrun, the joys of Parkrun tourism and more about her and her running….

Q) For members who don’t know you, tell us a bit about yourself?

A). I retired from teaching 10 years ago and still lead a very busy life but doing things that I want to do rather than what I have to do. Sounds very selfish but that is what it is like when you retire.

Q) How and when did you get into running?

A) I used to do a lot of walking and attended keep fit classes but realised that I wasn’t really very fit. I used to do the Race for Life 5km but never trained and just turned up and ran and walked the route. Then, at a Rosemary Conley class I got a training plan which said I would be able to run for half an hour in 6 weeks. Never, I thought! However along with my sister, Yvette, (who is also a Sandhurst Jogger) we stuck at it and completed the next Race for Life non stop. When we finished we decided that we would carry on running, discovered Frimley Lodge Parkrun and haven’t looked back.

Q) What do you enjoy most about being a member of Sandhurst Joggers?

A) I joined Sandhurst Joggers about 3 years ago and was made very welcome from the beginning. Everyone is so friendly and what I like is that all abilities are made to feel as if they belong and have a part to play. There is something for everyone with the activities that are organised.

Q) On which of the weekly runs are we most likely to bump into you?

A) I run on a Tuesday night in the slow group sometimes as sweeper, occasionally as second leader or just in the middle. I love the social nature of this group!

alurie-150-parkruns

Q) I see you’ve ran at many Parkruns around the country, of the 29 venues you’ve ran at, which was your favourite and why?

A) I love being a parkrun tourist and they are all so different but I think my favourite is Plym Valley near Plymouth which is really pretty, through woods, along a stream, around fields and even has a steepish hill. As in all park runs everyone was very friendly.

Q) What other events are on your programme for 2017?

A) I have realised that I need to have a target for my running, so, along with my sister, we aim to run at least one 10km each month and one half marathon a year. We ran the Romsey 5mile two weeks ago and are running the Winchester 10k this month, Lidl Kingston breakfast 8mile and Bushy park 10k in March, Danesfield Dash, Wheatie 10 follow in April and May and then we are into the Yateley and the Dinton Pastures series. I did do the London marathon last year which I enjoyed but it was my first and last!! We haven’t decided on which half marathon we are going to do.

Looks like Alurie would be a good member to advise on the most enjoyable events.Well done on the achievement and we look forward to hearing more in 2017.

Leave a Reply

