Leave a comment

Meet the member – Charlie St Aubyn celebrates 100th Parkrun

We haven’t had any Sandhurst Joggers reach Parkrun milestones for a while but with marathon season over and sunny Saturday mornings enticing people out of bed for a run there are plenty coming up. But our next ‘meet the member’ needed no such weather dependent incentive as the run over to, around and home from Bracknell Parkrun provided a training foundation for Charlie St Aubyn’s success at this year’s London Marathon. Fittingly he celebrated his 100th Parkrun (not birthday!!!) at Bracknell last weekend.  Let’s find out more about him…

Charlie 100th Parkrun

Q) For members who don’t know you, tell us a bit about yourself?

A) I’m a father of four, HR director for a US software company in Bracknell and according to my very own Facebook troll ‘running away from (my) responsibilities’. Many years ago I was an Army Officer for a few years, so saw RMAS from the inside and never thought I’d enjoy running round the outside of it. I hated running when I was younger, but loved most sports especially rugby, football and tennis, although it was always a triumph of enthusiasm over talent. Later on I was a qualified RFU rugby referee for a number of years, which took me all over the country.

Q) How and when did you get into running?

A) In my 30’s I started working away from home, eating on expenses in chain restaurants every night and decided I had to do something or I would end up a complete lardy. After an unsuccessful encounter with a gym membership, I luckily moved to a new job when a group ran a couple of days a week at lunchtime and I joined them. I then got a place in the ballot for London and trained with a fairly unfit friend who was doing an Ironman (ignorance is bliss!) Did London twice in 3 years and the rest, as they say, is history

Q) What do you enjoy most about being a member of Sandhurst Joggers?

A) The wide variety of runs and the friendliness of the people. I still remember Paul Alexander and Matt James taking time to chat to me on my first few runs with the club.

Q) On which of the weekly runs are we most likely to bump into you?

A) Currently, Wednesday wherever, Friday at track and Sunday at the Look Out, although it varies week by week.

Q) I see you’ve mainly kept it local with Parkruns, out of the four local venues you’ve ran at which is your favourite and why?

A) I used to really enjoy doing Reading at TVP, but I have to say Bracknell as it is so local, just around the corner and I ran at the inaugural Bracknell park run.  I can also run there and back if I can be bothered!

Q) You have travelled further afield with Parkrun tourism in Warsaw – what was that event like?

A) My sister lives in Warsaw and this is in the park near her house. It is flat as a pancake, on a tarmac path around a lake. When I ran there were 32 runners in total, mostly in their 20’s and very quick, but also very friendly and they did the brief for me in English. I’m hoping to run it again in June.

Q) What other events are on your programme for 2017?

A) Yateley 10k with our HR team from work, Endure 24 as a pair, then some more Halfs/Halves (?) including Burnham Beeches and the New Forest in September, to add to my 3 so far this year. Finished off with some Cross-Country.

Leave a Reply

